1997 1.6 Abs Pump? Financial doom :( - Andymuso23
Hey guys,

So I'm driving around like a happy chap in my cheap reliable primera, then when i put heavy pressure on the brakes to stop at around 10-15mph... the ABS kicks in when it does'nt need to, but not only that... it does'nt stop the car!

And it then happened a few more times, ABS kicking in for no reason but not doing anything to stop the car... had to use the handbreak to prevent knocking a shiny BMW

I dont have an ABS light on or anything, the garage says its most likely the ABS pump... which will cost upto £1300 to repair / replace.

Do you guys have any suggestions? I am a skint musician who paid £800 for the car itself, so I guess I may have to sell it :(

The pumps you can pick up for 80 quid on ebay reconditioned, so why are they so expensive to fit?

1997 1.6 Abs Pump? Financial doom :( - scrapmetal
Get the reluctor rings checked out on the driveshaft cv joints at the front, one or both of the rings will have a crack acrooss them causing the abs to cut in.
1997 1.6 Abs Pump? Financial doom :( - adverse camber
Agree.

If it was the pump - how is that making the abs come on when it shouldnt? Looks like something is telling the abs to cut in and that is most likely a cracked reluctor ring giving the false impression of wheel locking up.

And I would find another garage - quoting £1300 is ridiculous imo.
1997 1.6 Abs Pump? Financial doom :( - McP
I had a similar problem and it was a cracked reluctor ring.
Mine only activated the ABS at around 5mph
Fixed for around £150. New CV joint fitted by my local independant.

I have heard that it can also be caused by muck on the ABS sensor
Have you had either of CV boots replaced recently?

Have you hit any large potholes recently? A common cause of the reluctor rings cracking apparantly.
1997 1.6 Abs Pump? Financial doom :( - vulcan7
Had the same problem with my primera when I had it.