Driver awareness course - Hampshire - minicabmum
I have been 'invited' and accepted, the option of attending a course as an alternative to a fixed penalty and 3 points on my clean licence. I have been driving for 25 years and was doing 36mph in a 30mph limit. Nevermind that I'm constantly checking my speedo, and look out for speed cameras on a daily basis. London (and Hampshire) are full of them.

Could anyone who has attended one of these courses, please let me know what 'fun' I'm in for during the 3 hour session?!

Also, I asked Hampshire to let me attend a course in London, but they said that wasn't possible. Has anyone been successful in being allowed to do this?

Thanks
Driver awareness course - Hampshire - Alanovich
The courses are only run in the area covered by the police force in which you were caught speeding. So you will not be able to attend in the Metropolitan Police area if you were caught elsewhere. The system is not national, so this has the advantage that if you're subsequently caught again in another force's area, you may be offered another session in place of points and a fine - if you get caught again in Hampshire though you'll be on their records as having attended one and will get the points and fine straight away.

I attended Thames Valley's version after being similarly caught at 36 in a 30. It was quite an eye opening day, but not in the way I think they intended. What surprised and alarmed me the most was the fact that, during an initial session about which speed limits applied where, it became evident that only about 10% of the people there had any clue what the limits were for the various types of road we have in the country. The ignorance was staggering given that everyone should have learnt this in order to pass a driving test.