Mobile phones - Andrew Bairsto
Last night I listened to a woman on the news saying that Hands Free car phones were dangerous because they are distracting.
First there are thousands of things in this world that are distracting and we learn to live with them.
The serious point is where did this imformation come from .I work in the mobile phone industry in Germany and can find no records of any accident caused by driver using a hands free unit as the Germans are better at recording facts and figures and the British useless I have to accept what imformation is available.
There are records for accidents caused by smokeing ,sleeping,eating,using a mobile phone without hands free,adjusting the radio or cd and all the the other reasons but hands free has a clean bill of health.This women will probably go on to convince some government goon that the use of phones in cars is against the law.And then we have another law to contend with that was brought in without any consultation and without any
research.
Re: Mobile phones - Adam Going (Tune-Up Ltd)
Andrew,
According to my paper (Daily Express) a British Medical Association (BMA) review - whatever that is!- has called for urgent changes in the Highway Code and Government guidlines, neither of which condem the use of hands-free. A BMA spokeswoman said it was "the distracting nature of a conversation" rather than one less hand on the wheel that put road users in danger. The authors say there have been at least 14 deaths due to mobile phone use (note no mention of hands-free) since 1994.
OK to tear around with one arm out of the window then, but passengers are banned !!
Regards, Adam
Re: Mobile phones - Ian Cook
Would this be the best reason to leave the mother in law at home?
Re: Mobile phones - Adam Going (Tune-Up Ltd)
I didn't mention that in case mine is surfing today, but .............!!
Adam.
Re: Mobile phones - Brian