03 1.9 abs firing when stopping very slowly - volks
hi,i'm a german car mechanic and i am having problems with my passat 1.9 tdi 130 6 spd, i have just replaced my front wheel bearing, now whenever i brake very gently as i come to a stop the abs fires on that wheel.[grinding noise] when you brake hard nothing happens, i've tried changing the abs sensor as i know they dont like to be disturbed but it has made no difference , when you drive normally the car seems fine it doesnt pull or make any weird noises!!!!!!!!!!!!
so any help would be appreciated ....thanks
03 1.9 abs firing when stopping very slowly - Screwloose

Is yours a two-wire or a three-wire sensor? Does it have ESP stability control?
hi, it has a 2 wire sensor and it does have esp......thanks
It would appear that the signal from that sensor is weaker than the others and the ABS is concluding that the wheel has locked.

Is there anything that is stopping the sensor going fully into the hole? Can you watch the 4 wheel speeds on a scanner - or check their signals on an oscilloscope?

Could this be a coincidence and there's water in the ABS module plug?

Edited by Screwloose on 18/08/2008 at 19:11

no scanners at work ,but do you know how to correctly set the sensor? i measured the one on the other side to set this one.......

The only spec that I've got to hand is 0.2 - 1.2mm for the reluctor ring type.
03 1.9 abs firing when stopping very slowly - jimbano
Hi,

It could be something just as simple as the air gap between the sensor and the exciter ring too small. If memory serves me right, the sensor on that model is a push fit into the hub. If it's pushed too far in, it closes the gap. Gently pull the sensor out a little bit and then try again.

james
hi james thanks for your reply, i have tried that but it made no difference, but that was with the old sensor, so it might be worth another go, do you know the correct gap?
03 1.9 abs firing when stopping very slowly - jimbano
Hi,