Modern, original fitment exhaust systems - doctorchris
Here's a bit of a positive note for a change.
I've been buying new cars on and off since about 1984. Lately, I've been pleasantly surprised by the longevity of the original exhaust sytem. The system on our 5 year old Jazz is still looking as good as new and the system on my 3 year old Panda is still fine. Not as impressed by the silencer on my daughter's Panda 1,1 active which, after 2 years and 27,000 miles is corroding along one of its seams.
However, past experience has been of silencers failing on new cars on a regular basis after 2-3 years. Never any point in treating it as a warranty claim, the best they ever offered was to go halves but as they charged twice as much as the fast fit places there was no point.
Are the exhaust sytems tougher? Are cleaner exhaust gases exposing the exhaust sytem to less corrosive gases? Or am I just imaging it all?
Modern, original fitment exhaust systems - Roger Jones
One major factor in exhaust system longevity is average trip length. If the car gets lots of short trips, its exhaust will fall apart quickly for want of warming up properly. Exhausts on cars that enjoy mainly long-trip use last for ages. Does this figure at all in your experiences?
Modern, original fitment exhaust systems - doctorchris
Strangely, my daughter's Panda 1.1 Active which almost exclusively does trips of at least 15 miles and usually much longer is the one with the dodgy looking silencer.
The balance between long and short journeys on the other cars is no different from that of years gone by.
Modern, original fitment exhaust systems - BrianW
Diesel exhausts last longer due to the composition of the exhaust gases (more CO2 and less H2O).

Stainless steel ones are expensive, but I wonder why steel ones aren't plated (zinc or copper maybe)?
Modern, original fitment exhaust systems - Hamsafar