02 1.9TD - Cooling - Shef
My Diesel Fabia gauge goes to overheat and the Temp warning goes ding and lights up. After a minute or so all is well and the gauge goes back to the centre, then it happens again but the engine doesn't appear to be boiling. I would have expected the cooling fans to come on but they don't. The fuse is ok. Where are the coolant temp sensor and the fan switch and how can I test them. I do not think that I have an engine problem as the gauge sinks back to normal too soon. Please can anyone help?

Edited by Dynamic Dave on 16/04/2008 at 13:16

02 1.9TD - Cooling - Screwloose

On an ATD engine, it's in a plastic housing on the back of the head. Probably a four-wire sensor held with a clip.

You could have a thermostat issue or even be low on water.
Thank you. The water level is fine, I did consider the thermostat. I am an old fashioned car mechanic and finding these things on a modern car is almost impossible. Do you know where the Fan switch is ?

Edited by Pugugly on 16/04/2008 at 16:43

There may not be one; these days I'd hope - even on a Skoda - that temperature information was CAN networked between all the ECUs from the one sensor.
02 1.9TD - Cooling - 659FBE
"Even on a Skoda" - cheek, Screwloose, I've got a bigger one of these and the engine management is just VAG group standard for whatever the model year is.

Seriously though, a good place to look when you have eliminated the easy ones is the water pump. Dear old VAG use a plastic impeller which either breaks up or comes loose on its shaft. This gives the effect of poor circulation at high engine revs and will cause the engine to overheat very quickly. At lower speeds and idle, all is normal.

Metal impeller replacements are available from GSF. If this job has to be done, the cambelt can be done at the same time as it drives it.