Mini Brakes bleeding procedure - Ben Kaye
I own a 1989 F reg Mini mayfair with servo assisted brakes, i just wondered what the procedure is for bleeding the brakes, the front are disc and the rear are drums. Is my car on a split system and if so which will it be, diagonal or front and rear. Also, just how do i go about bleeding them, please tell, i am new to all this and although the old haynes manula is helpful it doesnt tell me everything i need to know. Will i need sumone else need to help, to pump the pedal, and howdo these kits i have read about work, are they nescacerry?
the reason why i am intending to bleed them is because i accidently undid the wrong nut! d'oh! and undid the bolt which split the caliper in half, causing a small amount of brake fluid to see out, i immediately realised what i was doin and tightened it back up, will it reseal ok?

benno
Re: Mini Brakes bleeding procedure - Andrew Hamilton
Go on a car maintenance evening course before you damage your car. There is no substitute for learning how things work before you try pulling them apart. Haynes manuals are great but they are an aid NOT a teaching course!
Re: Mini Brakes bleeding procedure - John Kenyon
Andrew Hamilton wrote:
>
> Go on a car maintenance evening course before you damage your
> car. There is no substitute for learning how things work
> before you try pulling them apart. Haynes manuals are great
> but they are an aid NOT a teaching course!

And get yourself a copy of "Fundementals of Motor Vehicle Technology"
by V.A.W. Hillier (4th Ed published by Stanley Thornes ISBN 0-7487-0531-7).

A copy of this with a Haynes manual might not persuade you to take on
every smallest job, but it will sure help to stop you from getting ripped off.

/John
Re: Mini Brakes bleeding procedure - Dave
C'mon!

How far wrong can he go???

This is not a difficult task and Haynes manuals are very clear on how do do this kind of thing.