1999 5.0 V8 M5 - Throttle Problems - Big-Al
Hi Folks - Sorry if this is a long one but i am a newbie at all of this..

I have a real problem with be 1999 E39 BMW M5 5.0 V8 which apparently the local dealership cannot resolve so I wonder if someone out there may be able to shed some light on the problem. I am currently at my wits end and well out of pocket.

Unfortunately live in Spain and bought a LHD E39 M5 about 4 years ago. It is has full BMW history and has wanted for nothing. Last year the car started randomly losing power - when you put your foot down on the accelerator it will not rev past 2000rpm but if you let go of the throttle and put your foot down again it is fine for a few seconds the goes back to 2000rpm.

The car does not seem to misfire at all but will not rev. It starts fine and idles fine and then all of a sudden it will be all ok again for a random period of time.

I took it to my local BMW dealer who has had the car since last August!!!!(I have had it returned to me several times with the fault still occurring)!! They say there is nothing showing on the diagnostic machine or in the history?

They have changed
Both air flow sensors
All the spark modules (spark leads)
All spark plugs
Some form of ´rev´sensor (situated near clutch housing)

Currently the total cost stands at about £2500...

The fault still occurs and now they want to replace sensors on the clutch assembly, the clutch whilst it?s out and also an ECU. This is another total cost of £2500 - however they cannot guarantee this will work...and I don?t want to spend this money unless they can guarantee this will be the resolve. As you can appreciate I don?t want to waste any more money...

No one at BMW has ever encountered anything like this and I feel that they have lost all interest...BMW (Spain) also refuse to contact M division in Germany which I find a bit strange?