Termination of HP agreement half way through - Harry Pearce
I want to terminate my HP agreement half way through the agreement which is my right as I have the paid the required amount. The contract states that as long as the vehicle is in REASONABLE condition then they will take the vehicle back nothing further to pay etc. They want to give the vehicle a full RAC inspection etc, the vehicle is a MG MGF and is 8 years old etc it a rusting subfarme and rusting pipe work. It does have a 11 month mot and a full service history and apart from the above is in (well i think reasonable condition)

Does anyone know where I stand ie if they say its not in reasonable condition because of the rust etc then what?? Any help would greatly appreciated

Edited by Pugugly {P} on 25/01/2008 at 18:06

Termination of HP agreement half way through - scouseford
Way back in the 60's and 70's I worked in the instalment finance business and my recollection is that there was a monetary figure in a hire purchase agreement that was known as the HP price. I think that it was the amount of money borrowed plus the interest charge plus the 'option to purchase fee'. If you had paid at least half that figure then you were free to let the HP company have the vehicle back without any further obligation on your part.

This might not apply now and I would query whether your 'HP Agreement' is, in fact, a hire purchase agreement. It is just as likely to be a personal loan from the company that arranged the finance on your car, in which case a completely different set of circumstances exists. The vehicle is actually irrelevent in this instance.

Much depends on how long the finance agreement has been in force. It may be that you have paid enough to satisfy the loan company and they might be prepared to take the proceeds of the sale of the car in final settlement of the debt.

But I think that you might be in for some bad news. Finance companies want their 'pound of flesh'.