£2000 - £2500 What reliable diesel car? - grayfray
Hello,To cut a very long story short I only have £2000 - £2500 max to spend on a diesel car, what would be a good choice? I have had no experience of japanese diesels are these cars any good and above all reliable? Thank you

I have previously had...
Citroen BX's - brilliant cars but old now
Citroen ZX - good cars but old
Peugeot 306 - used lots of oil
Peugeot 406 turbo - turbo fault
Renault Scenic - too many faults
£2000 - £2500 What reliable diesel car? - Screwloose

Mondeo or Focus TD/TDDi?
£2000 - £2500 What reliable diesel car? - stunorthants26
The problem here is that everyone will come up with different cars and swear they are reliable despite a damning list of problems to watch for in the CBC.

Personally, id look for a 5-6 year old Toyota Corolla diesel. Ive never owned one, but those cars do tend to come high in the surveys - I think its the one with the bug-eyed look at that age. Cant think the diesel would be any less reliable than the petrols, just avoid ex-minicabs.

Thats not to say its a fun car, but your only specifying reliability.
£2000 - £2500 What reliable diesel car? - scrapmetal
rover 75 diesel. bmw engine, jatco gearbox
£2000 - £2500 What reliable diesel car? - bell boy
nothing really at this price its midway between leggin and leggoff,be careful
Thanks for replies
Never considered a Rover so had a look at Rover 75's on *bay - nice cars but £700+ out of my price range!

Any more recommendations
£2000 - £2500 What reliable diesel car? - oilrag
I think its a difficult price... I would rather buy a sub £1000 car, put a new cambelt on it and consider it `disposable`.

Problem is IMHO that £2,500 can buy a car thats not much better.
£2000 - £2500 What reliable diesel car? - RichardW
£2.5k buys a lot of Xantia HDi hatchback these days....
--
RichardW

Is it illogical? It must be Citroen....
£2000 - £2500 What reliable diesel car? - Shaz {p}
You could pick up a decent car for £2500:

406 HDi
306 HDi