Filling jerrycans with petrol - movilogo
During Xmas time I intend to visit Scotland (some very northern parts).

I think it will be a good idea to carry surplus petrol in a jerry can.

Now, can I refill a jerry can in a petrol station? Or it is illegal? If yes, then what's the option to carry extra fuel?

And once the petrol is in jerry can, how do I pour it into the petrol tank? I don't think a normal funnel will allow me to pour petrol in car's tank (because of the stopper on mouth of fuel tank).

Thanx.

Filling jerrycans with petrol - milkyjoe
you can get attachments that fit on the end of the jerry can that helps filling the tank a lot less messy
Filling jerrycans with petrol - normd2
we do have filling stations up here you know - we stopped running about covered in woad a wee while ago. I used to be a service engineer with Scotland as my 'patch' doing around 40k miles a year. Never once felt the need for a jerry can.
Filling jerrycans with petrol - Ruperts Trooper
I think there are regulations limiting "loose" fuel to 2 containers of 10 litres.
Filling jerrycans with petrol - daveyjp
I've done most of northern Scotland and never had a problem finding fuel - some of it has been expensive, but needs must.

The trick is not to play 'fuel warning roulette' and as soon as your tank is showing half full stop at the first station you come across and refuel.
we do have filling stations up here you know

Ya, I know... but I'm bit worried about 25-26!

I don't know if there is any other nation on the planet who suspend their rail service on those days! Last 2 years I was in Sweden & Spain respectively during Xmas and was amazed to see that almost everything were running as normal on 25-26.

Filling jerrycans with petrol - jc2
Legally you cannot use jerricans for petrol unless they are the right colour and have the correct safety markings.
Filling jerrycans with petrol - Screwloose

The largest amount that you can legally carry/fill with petrol is 10 litres.