Car price guides. - mal
I am in the middle of deciding on a change of car, and have found one to look at in a private sale, he is asking £12750. After looking at the latest parkers guide and taking into consideration it has done 26000 miles in 11 months the guide figure comes out at £11430, the car has a few expensive extras such as a makers detachable tow bar, optional rear spoiler and optional rear bass speaker.
The car looks in good nick apart from 2 small marks at the rear which he is going to send pics of tonight.
I have spoke over the phone and he has said he would come down to £12500 maybe a little more, do you think there is too large a gap for hm to come down that much.
If I decide to look at it I will be making a journey of 400 miles in total, should I negotiate more on the phone or just try and get him down by "flashing the cash" when I see it. I am a complete novice at spending so much, always bought from dealers.
Should I stick to the guide price and not budge from that, this is the only one that matches my search but will not let him know that.
Car price guides. - yorkiebar
If I was selling car and knew you were from a distance I wouldnt budge on price over phone.

He may have had 3 or 4 people try to negotiate price without appearing etc..

Appear in person and negotiate with money and presence, is always more fruitful. If he knows you are serious and about to go away he is more likely to negotiate seriously, because it wouldbe unlikely to travel twice etc.

But best advice is ALWAYS look at more than 1 car so you can compare them. Dont just buy from an advert, however honest and good the deal seems.
Car price guides. - Keith S
I would suggest looking at Glasses prices rather than Parkers. But thats only my opinion.

What is the car? Someone might be able to help.
Car price guides. - islandman