Thank You Manatee! - BobbyG
I just want to publicly thank "Manatee" for all the time and effort he has put into emailing me regarding a possible purchase of a CR-V that I was considering, and answering my endless list of questions.

At the end of the day I chose not to go ahead with the purchase but that was primarily based on my own personal driving experience of the CRV.

Its people like him that make this forum such a friendly, useful and informative place to be part of.

Once again, many thanks.

Bobby

[now looking for an expert source of knowledge on Altea XLs.....]
Thank You Manatee! - Altea Ego
[now looking for an expert source of knowledge on Altea XLs.....]

Look this way - what I dont know (and I researched quite a bit) I can find out.
------------------------------
TourVanMan TM < Ex RF >
Thank You Manatee! - Avant
I'm not an expert but it's on my shortlist (2.0 TDI probably with DSG). There don't seem to be many demonstrators around but so far I've had a good run in a Leon 2.0 TDI with DSG and sat in an Altea XL. I'm waiting to see what the forthcoming VW Golf estate looks like before finding an Altea to test.

But my guess would be

PRO

2.0 TDI with DSG is a good combination - very lively and not too noisy if properly soundproofed (see the other thread - I think it's the TVM metamorphosis thread - where somone has helpfully said that you have to ensure the engine cover is supplied)

The XL is said by testers to ride better than other SEATs - handling of the Leon was very good

Big boot and lots of room for all passengers

Cheaper than an Octavia or a Golf, and more roomy than the Golf

CON

I'm not convinced that SEATs hold their value as well as VWs or Skodas

Rear seats don't fold down flat - a stupid omission

Brake pedal too high in relation to accelerator - like an old Vauxhall

Thick A-pillars and rear visibility is poor too