Ford Focus problems. - LizFord
Hi everyone, I was wondering if I could have a bit of advice. I have a 52 reg Ford Focus 1.8 TDCi Ghia and recently it has cut out twice due to it over heating. I put some water in the water bottle leading to the radiator and it ran fine for a couple of days. Now for some reason the water bottle is continuously empty but I don't know where the water is going. Also white smoke is coming from the exhaust and the temperature gauge pointer only moves half way up the gauge. I would be grateful for any advice given. Many thanks.
Liz
Ford Focus problems. - waldenyid2007
I'm no expert so i could be wrong but blown head gasket?
Ford Focus problems. - yorkiebar
Certainly sounds like head gasket.

Get it tested and confirmed by garage and then re[aired if it is b4 driving it much more.

More driving may do more damage.
Thanks. I sort of had a feeling it might be the head gasket but needed someone else to confirm it for me. Do you know if it's all that expensive to repair? I'm not to sure about these things.
Regards.
Ford Focus problems. - waldenyid2007
Unfortunately, yes it is pretty expensive. I can't quote any exact prices (as i said in my previous post I'm no expert) but probably at least £400?
Oh, I see. Better start saving then. :(
Ford Focus problems. - yorkiebar
Never done 1 of these but "book" time is 6 hours + parts so depending on your choice of garage I would expect between £ 250 - £ 500 + parts .

Get couple of quotes 1st
Thanks I will do that.
Regards.
Ford Focus problems. - MikeTorque
May be worth considering having the cam belt changed at the same time whilst the engine is in bits.
Also ensure they flush out both the oil system and water system, refill with new engine oil + new oil filter, fresh water+anti-freeze collant throughout.
Ford Focus problems. - MW
Yes, I agree. It would be crazy not to have the cam belt and all the bits replaced while having such a major strip-down.
Hi,