Golf Anniversary - GTI or TDI - Jonnys06
Hi all,

When I manage to sell my car I want a Golf mk4 GTI 25th Anniversary. I wanted the Petrol model as I thought it had a bit extra power (180)and probably sounds better, but have now heard due to one of HJ's pages, the diesel has a lot of torque but has 30 less horse power. Am I right in assuming that those 30 bhp don't really make a great deal of difference? Obviously the mpg is much better too? If someone knows a bit about the performance of both of these versions I would be grateful, and also which version you think is better.

Cheers
Golf Anniversary - GTI or TDI - a900ss
What's your mileage? What's your style of driving? What type of journeys do you do (town/motorway/etc)?>> Hi all
Mileage is fairly minimal as I have a company van but want a faster car for weekends and maybe a couple of evenings a week. I'm thinking of the diesel as you get performance and economy- ish. I'm a fairly sensible driver but like to put my foot down when safe to do so. Journeys are a mix of everything really, motorway, town, country, the lot. Hope that helps

Cheers
Golf Anniversary - GTI or TDI - George Porge
These are collectable, command a high price for unabused examples, if you're keeping it long term it wont make much difference what mileage you do. In mint condition either will command a high price when the time comes to resell. A rechip will put the TDi over 180BHP anyway

The alloys are known for corroding and are £400+ each, buy a minter, keep it mint and you'll not lose much on depreciation
I suppose the wheels corroding result in MOT failure? If they start to corrode, as a cheaper option could I get them re - furbished or would they need replacing? Are there any other things to look out for with these cars?
Golf Anniversary - GTI or TDI - George Porge
I suppose the wheels corroding result in MOT failure? If they start to corrode as
a cheaper option could I get them re - furbished or would they need replacing?