BMW E46 318 Ci M Sport Conv Handling - Aocal
Hi

I have a 53 plate BMW M Sport Convertible with the 18" BMW alloys, recently I had some tyres changed and ever since I have had a handling issue. Over 60MPH and usually on long sweeping motorway bends I can suddenly find myself in the adjoining lane!!!!!! This doesn't mean that in a straight line everything is ok, even here I can end up in the next lane with no warning what so ever!

The obvious answer to this problem would be the tyres because this problem happened in conjunction with them being changed however, this problem occurs randomly, some times I can go round bends (the same bend) with no problems and other times i'm jumping all over the show. I am an experienced driver and have had many cars with low profile tyres and would know straight away if it was purely down to new tyres.

The garage that changed the tyres examined them and confirmed they were balanced correctly but agreed there was a handling problem. Took it to the BMW dealership and they are stating there is nothing wrong with the car!!

Has anyone else had any issues with their E46 handling?

Many Thanks
AOCAL
BMW E46 318 Ci M Sport Conv Handling - John S
Not on an E46, but on an E36, which isn't that different. When the rear suspension trailing arm bushes failed my car the handling deteriorated and it would, apparently randomly, sometimes exhibit severe oversteer on bends. Also seemed less than stable on the straights. Sounds similar to the problems you're having. Despite the garage check I'd look for something like that.

JS
This problem is on it's way to being solved........I think!

The rear (new) tyres are Dunlop and the front tyres are Michelin Pilots. It would appear that Dunlops website is feeding incorrect information on two counts:

1. They state that the Sport 9000 MFS is OE (Original Equipment) approved by BMW, it now transpires that they aren't because they don't carry a star symbol so they've misled me on their website.