How can you tell ? - oldpostie
My son got his imported 2nd hand Toyota Lucida yesterday. The dealer assured him they had changed the cambelt. They had shown him the old belt, (well, an old belt) but a suspicious person like me can't help wondering. The engine seems very clean, and has fresh oil, but should he have some documentation to say the job had been done ? Or does he just trust their reputation ?
The car drove well, but he has to return it so they can correct some brake judder.
I'd be grateful for any thoughts.
As I have limited mechanical knowledge, I always deal with local people with solid reputations to protect.
How can you tell ? - Number_Cruncher
The best way is to peer inside the cover yourself.

>>I always deal with local people with solid reputations to protect.

Wise fellow!

Number_Cruncher
How can you tell ? - GregSwain
You'll soon know if 5,000 miles down the line the belt snaps!

Seriously though, there's no way just by opening the bonnet that anyone can tell whether the belt's been changed. You can often tell by taking the belt cover off and looking at the condition of the belt whether it's newly fitted or knackered. Other than that, you just have to trust people. Ideally these things should be documented - if I bought a used car with no service history I'd change the belt ASAP.
How can you tell ? - 659FBE
If the belt has been very recently changed there is a way to check non-invasively.

Get the engine hot, stop engine and leave bonnet closed for 5 mins. Open bonnet and sniff around edges of timing cover. If a new belt has just been fitted, there will be a distinct rubbery smell.

Checking invasively, remove upper timing cover and look for clear lettering on the back of the belt. On an old belt, all the markings will have been rubbed off by the tensioner roller.

How can you tell ? - bell boy
think it comes down to garage reputation and trust if you give them both of those proceed if you dont then walk.