1st Car... - Pootle
Hi All,

Just wondered if anyone can give me a few pointers on getting a first car for my better half. We've got the meagre sum of 1k (absolute maximum!) to spend. She's after something small, Likes the Ford Ka (thinks it looks good), but I'm thinking that we would end up with something problematic at that money. I was thinking a better choice would be: Felicia, Fiesta, Proton Compact, Micra, Kia Pride, possibly something French but am put off by the thought of constant bills (is this really the case?).. It would be her first car, so keeping insurance low would be helpful.

I know this is an ambitious email, but are there any pointers to look out for when looking at when looking at cars beyond the obvious (i.e. under the bonnet) - I'm not very technical, but I'm determined not to lose out by missing something serious that a bit of nouse would allow me to spot!

I saw Top Gear a while back and they managed to get their hands on ridiculously cheap cars that garages wanted to get rid, they had been brought in as part-ex. Is this a feasible route to just getting something basic and driveable?

Many Thanks

Pootle
1st Car... - Pugugly {P}
Kia or Proton, boring but reliable. Otherwise look for an Astra.
1st Car... - Armitage Shanks {p}
Does the budget of £1k include the cost of insurance for the car? Depending on the age of your wife this could be a very big factor.
1st Car... - Pootle
Thanks guys for the feedback - in reply to Armitage Shanks, the grand would be for the car alone, insurance would be separate.

I got a copy of Autotrader lastnight and leafed through the budget buy section - a worry I have is that if something went on the car a new part, i.e. for a Civic would be pretty expensive.

Also, cross-thread I know, is it worth doing an AA/RAC inspection on a vehicle in the less-than-a-grand department?