Diesel problems - 1982 Talbot MotorHome - Mikeym1
Hi John,

I am currently refurbishing a 1982 Talbot MotorHome. The original engine has been replaced with a later model Fiat Ducato 2.5 Diesel engine (non turbo). The engine seems o.k. although recently noticed the engine takes longer to start with a lot of smoke. However the engine starts fine afterwards. I would also like to decrease the engine noise (I am no expert but I believe this is caused by valve overlap) Could you tell me please:-

1.Could there be a fault with the glow plugs or relay?
2. Are there any products available to improve efficiency of the engine and help reduce the diesel clatter?

Any help and relevant websites would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Mike.
Diesel problems - 1982 Talbot MotorHome - bell boy
motorhomes are usually stood a lot make sure that the filler cap is secure on the wing so as rain cant get in.
does sound like the timing may be slightly out you may have to "spill it" to get it right.
Friend has one of these found that the fuel lines had bunged up over the years and his was driving like a kangaroo some times but not others,he changed the filter and both pipes and went to europe in his,never heard from him since mind :)
Thanks for the reply.

Once it is running the engine seems fine. No faultering or anything. But now you come to mention it the power seem to be restricted (almost like the engine is governed)The filter seem o.k. I haven't changed the fuel line though. I think the filler cap is secure as well. Can I ask is theree any way to quieten the engine please.

Thanks again.

Mikeym1
Diesel problems - 1982 Talbot MotorHome - asti
Hi if glow plug light comes on with ignition turned on and goes off after a short while relay probably works so change glow plugs.Check for voltage at glow plugs when glow plug light on.
Thanks for your reply.

I believe there is no glow plug light on the dashboard.