Air conditioning testing - Ross_D
The time has come to start looking for a newer car. The 306 has served me well and so I'm looking to get a newer one, an HDi about W(2000) reg. Now these all seem to come with air con, but in this cold weather, how do I test it? Feeling for cold air coming out of the vents seems a bit of a no-no seeing as I probably wont be able to tell the difference between the air-con'ed air and the outside air temp. I suppose I could look for the pumps clutch engaging/disengaging, but will it actually work in cold weather?!
As you can see, I'm new to air con!! Is there a definitive way to test its working?!
Air conditioning testing - Stuartli
HonestJohn's FAQs offer advice re A/C and keeping it in proper working order.

One thing that might puzzle you is that if the air temperature is four or five degrees Celsius or below, you won't be able to use the recirculating setting on full demist mode. It will cut out before this point is reached.

This is to prevent the interior of the car becoming misted up and reducing visibility.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
What\'s for you won\'t pass you by
Air conditioning testing - P 2501
I'm in exactly the same position Ross D! I too noticed that they all seem to come with air con,and i think i would prefer one without, but i just can't find a late HDi without it.

Have you test driven one yet to compare it with the old XUD- (i presume your old 306 is a diesel)I haven't got that far yet.

Air conditioning testing - Altea Ego
and i think i would prefer one without,

You think wrongly. :)

If a car is available with air con, Take it. There are no good reasons not to.

No I havent test driven one yet; I've only heard good things about the HDi in the 306 and my XUD has served me well, just regular servicing has been needed and a change of glowplugs last winter.
Yes, as you can see above I have a turbo diesel, its on 111K so just run in!