tax disc on trade-in - TrevorH
When buying a car from a dealer, is it standard practice for them to demand the tax disc from the trade in vehicle? As I understood it, unless explicitly stated, the tax falls outside of any negotiations - you rarely get a valid tax disc in the car supplied so why should it be any different for the car being traded in? I've not had sight of the dealer's terms & conditions, nor the contract of sale - would I expect to find it there?
tax disc on trade-in - Welliesorter
Not sure of the official answer (or whether there is one) but when I worked in a bank we used to process large batches of cheques (warrants?) that credited the accounts of car dealers. These went into the Bank of England clearing section. Because they were for smallish amounts I always assumed they were tax disc refunds.
tax disc on trade-in - Wee Willie Winkie
I would have thought that it would be standard practice for you to take the disc out before you hand over the keys, unless the dealer has specifically mentioned the trade in value includes the VED.

I would just go ahead and take out the disc and see if anything is mentioned.

DB
tax disc on trade-in - TrevorH
>I would just go ahead and take out the disc and see if anything is mentioned.

The deal is done. I advised the m-i-l to take the disc out but the dealer demanded the disc before handing over the keys. As a single pensioner she felt intimidated enough to comply. The dealer claims it was bought "as seen", i.e. with the disc. Not how the m-i-l understood it at the time, but there you go.
tax disc on trade-in - regent
As far as I know this is beer money for the dealers. I do know of a second hand car dealer where the wife sends off all the unexpired Tax Discs from the P/X's for a refund. A nice little earner!!

So, I think unless you've agreed that the tax disc forms part of the sale, remove it and get the money back yourself.

TTFN
tax disc on trade-in - Truckosaurus