Renault Scenic - dcrafts
I have a brand new Scenic 1600

I have noticed straightaway a flat spot whereby as soon as you engage first gear and ease off the clutch there is a momentary spot where nothing happens hence inducing, however carefully one tries, a significant and thoroughly irritating jerk in the movement

I took the car back to my dealer who acknowledged the problem, put it onto the computer and diagnosed nothing. I then insisted on driving another one which did exactly the same thing

I have been driving for 35 years, I have 2 other modern cars (a Honda Civic and a Mazda MX5 ) neither of which have any such problem

The garage will take no further interest saying that that's the way it is

Where can I go from here? Renault UK simply send me back to the dealer

There is clearly a design fault with this model

The garage of course as always say that no one has ever complained before

Has anyone else out there got a New Scenic 1600 manual with a similar problem?

David Crafts
Renault Scenic - Imagos
Have you the automatic parking brake?

The Scenics i've driven have a slight hesitation when pulling away, it's the parking brake being released. Feels like car being held back for a brief moment.

If you have a floor mounted brake it could be the ECU programmed wrong thinking it's got an automatic brake. That could be a load of cobblers 'cos i'm not an expert but with Renault anything is possible.

Also I believe the throttle on Scenics are fly by wire so may take a bit of getting use to.
Renault Scenic - dcrafts
Thank you for your interest

Yes, it has the automatic brake but, yes, I have already discovered the idiosyncracy of a bit more "welly" being required to overcome it. My problem is not, I think, related to the brake