Towing Caravans - OAP
My son is about to tow for the first time and has asked me for any tips. My experience is very limited but I have e-mailed him as follows:

"While I think of it.....are you both familiar with the RPM at which the Octavia develops it maximum torque?

"This, of course, is the point at which your engine will be happiest when towing (you should barely know the van is there) and is, I believe, also the point at which you will get maximum MPG.

"It follows, I suggest, that if your RPM are lower at any time than the point at which it develops max torque, you should change down so as to return to the 'happy' figure!!"

Are my suggestions correct?

I have searched previous threads and the most relevant comment I found was from Darren on 25/2/04 when he said "If towing caravan, torque is everything".....please enlarge on this.

My son's car is an Octavia 1.9tdi. I have no experience of turbo. What bearing does turbo have, if any, when towing?

Thanks in anticipation of Backroomer's help....as ever!
Towing Caravans - No Do$h
RAC tips on towing:

www.rac.co.uk/carcare/advice/general_help/towing_t...s

National Trailer and Towing Association Safer Towing guide (PDF format) - 970kb

www.ntta.co.uk/law/Safe&LegalTowingShort.pdf

Between these two I think you\'ve got pretty much everything covered. Hope this helps.

No Dosh - Backroom Moderator
mailto:moderators@honestjohn.co.uk
Towing Caravans - Stuartli
Only fair too, I feel, to mention the Caravan Club and its broad range of help and advice:

tinyurl.com/4fdb5
PS

Torque is pulling power - a diesel engine has considerably more torque than its petrol equivalent and, hopefully, your son won't need to keep changing gears to maintain speed too much.
Towing Caravans - patently
Oh no.

Not another one.
Towing Caravans - malteser
From the "Letters" page of the Torygraph today