American Car Hire - arnold2
Follow up to Winnabago thread ....

Lots of Car Hire companies, of course - who do backroomers recommend for the States; in particular, where can you hire, at a reasonable rate, European cars - Passat would do ... don't fancy an American 'barge' like most advertise ...

oh, and why are the Sterling prices miles higher than the Dollar rate ?
American Car Hire - smokie
I'm no expert but have just returned from Florida where I had a Chrysler Sebring opentop from Dollar for £241 for 8 days. The 8th day comes quite expensive. There was a thread here somewhere started by me where a lot of people gave some very useful advice.

The price was "all-in" - all possible insurances etc plus a tank of fuel (and additional drivers if reqd). It's the insurances which cause the (considerable) difference between sterling and dollar prices.

I rented mine through www.cheap-car-rental.com, with the confirmation coming from a Swedish company witha different name, which concerned me a little! www.hertz.com were only a little more expensive for a similar car.

The hire went perfectly (despite what some people say about Dollar). The car was available immediately after a little form filling at the airport, and return of car was simple too.
American Car Hire - Flat in Fifth
long thread here where Cardew and I agreed to disagree ;)

and it explains some of the insurance issues.

www.honestjohn.co.uk/forum/post/index.htm?t=19577&...f

Might I ask whats wrong with an American barge?

Very good for long hauls plus you won't stick out as a tourist.
Go on! You know that V8 sound is just ace!

What you think is a European car will in all probability be nothing like the European model, sometimes even a different bodyshell. eg USA Focus is physically larger than an EU Focus.
(that's why the Ford WRC rally team uses the USA shell to give themselves more space to fit all the gubbins inside)