Bikers/ex-bikers make Better Drivers? - Growlette-The Growler's Girl
I notice how many of the contributors have owned or still own motorcycles. I am getting on but I still have 3 myself.

It has been said, and I would agree, that drivers who began their motoring lives on bikes have far better skills for appreciating road surface quality, anticipating events, understanding weather conditions as they relate to speed and distance, and their observation skills are generally superior to those who leap into a repmobile or the school run after 8 hours with BSM.

Motorcycle riders being vastly more vulnerable, their need for sharper awareness is blindingly obvious, but I have always felt I am a better driver as a result of what I learn on my bike(s), and after each session in the saddle feel I do a better job next time I get behind the wheel.

So far so good, and of course I would add that everyone on a bike should take a rider training course.

Now we come to the new brigade -- the scooterists. Many of the recent twist n go brigade are car drivers quite reasonably hoping to beat jams, save fuel and time etc. However I frequently notice they have little or no apreciation of the things I consider when riding and many are downright dangerous. Modern 2 wheel tires etc are more forgiving than they used to be but I still see some real idiots on scooters doing things I would never consider on my bike, and I've been riding for 45 years. It seems to me there's a gap in the system somewhere that allows card rivers to hurl their leg over (should I say 'step-thru?) a scooter and weave madly through the traffic? I would hate to be a trucker with these things whizzing around me.

What do others think?

Maybe everyone should be compelled to ride a m/c as part of their driver training? and in particular scooter riders new to the game and coming from cars should get more training.
Re: Bikers/ex-bikers make Better Drivers? - vin