Rusting alloys - BobbyG
My 2001 Scenic's alloys have bits of rust and bubbling on them. Any idea if I would be able to claim under rust warranty with Renault or will these be excluded? Car has done 24k.
Rusting alloys - Altea Ego
Sorry Bobby, Bodywork only. Wheels excluded. YOu could try and prove they were faulty manufacture, but not a promising line of attack.
Rusting alloys - Imagos
alloys dont rust they corrode?
Rusting alloys - Andrew-T
imag - what difference do you see between rusting and corroding? Chemically identical.
Nope chemically different. No iron oxide on an alloy wheel.
Sorry RF - chemically identical. Trust me - I'm a chemist (or was). Rust is corrosion, usually of iron or steel, granted. But the process is the same, normally oxidation.
Rusting alloys - Imagos
imag - what difference do you see between rusting and corroding?
Chemically identical.

ok fair enough, i thought that rust occured only on iron/steel anyway i dont know about warranty claim i thought i would be highly unlikely of any satifactory outcome especially on 3 year old vehicle. The best advice i could give would be clean alloys regulary using a non corrosive cleaner and dont let brake dust bake on as i'm sure this aggrivates the corrosion.... or rust!
Rusting alloys - J Bonington Jagworth
Nearly all alloy wheels are painted or lacquered to preserve their appearance, and some wheels seem to weather much better than others. Those with sharp edges on the spokes (especially those made to look as though the whole wheel has been turned on a lathe - a favourite on 4x4's for some reason) seem to suffer the worst, while those with smooth contours (e.g. old Peugeot Gti's) look better longer, on the whole.

What are yours like?
Rusting alloys - L'escargot
No corrosion on the alloys of my 1999 Focus Ghia after 72,000 miles. Mind you, they've never been kerbed! I suspect that most corrosion is initiated by damage to the protective laquer.
--
L'escargot by name, but not by nature.