Removal of Alternator - Astra 1.7TD - KevDGill
For those of you in the trade or just those who\'ve done it on their own cars - how long should it take to remove and alternator, change the pulley, and put the alternator back in on a 1997 Astra 1.7 TD with GM engine? I\'ve been quoted by a VX dealer for \'best case an hour, worst case an hour and a half\' but that\'s a bit vague for me and seems a long time. I\'ve been told by someone local that it\'s possible to have an alternator off and back on again within 20 mins.

Are the VX dealer trying to rip me off (aside from their £60/hour labour rate) or do you think that an hour to an hour and a half is fair enough?

Cheers for any replies

-- Kev
Removal of Alternator - Astra 1.7TD - Victorbox
I don\'t know this engine but I have some experience of removing other Vauxhall alternators & I would say 10 mins to take it off (even when you can\'t find your spanners!) with same to replace -ensuring you get the connections right. But then I would be taking the alternator to my local auto electrician for a strip down so he probably has the necessary bar to shift the nut holding on the pulley which may be torqued up quite high. The only hitch I ever encountered with taking off an alternator was when the long bolt that holds it to the block had been fitted before the radiator was put in and there was little room to slide the bolt out without hitting the rad. Always disconnect the battery. I dropped a copper spark plug cleaning brush onto an alternator some years ago with only a momentary flash of sparks and it fried the windings!
Cheers for the reply.