Honda Accord 2002 2.0i petrol - Oil change on car, was 1/2 litre old oil still in? - Turkish_Emperor

I treated my car to an oil change today. I've been doing them myself for around 5 years now....

Today, I treated the car to a Liqui Moly Molygen (I'd never heard of them before) using their Engine Flush beforehand.

I'm pretty convinced the car, before draining everything, including their Engine Flush, that was 4.3litres worth of old oil in the engine....

Yet, when I came to filling up with the new oil (I fill up checking dipstick at regular intervals, always giving enough time for the oil to settle first), it seems that the amount of new oil I put in was less than 4 litres (I'd guess around 3.8litres)......

Could there really have been around 1/2 litre of old oil lying at the bottom in the sump before refilling?

Makes me wonder if, for the next oil change, I should drain the oil with the front of the car jacked up higher than the rear (i.e. on front ramps)?

Any ideas as I'm pretty peeved that it seems that over 10% of the 'new' oil in my car's engine is still of the old stuff.......

Edited by JezUK on 23/07/2021 at 14:09

Honda Accord 2002 2.0i petrol - Oil change on car, was 1/2 litre old oil still in? - SLO76
Wouldn’t be overly concerned. The car is 19 years old and given you 5 years good service. Whatever you’re doing regarding maintenance is obviously working well.
Honda Accord 2002 2.0i petrol - Oil change on car, was 1/2 litre old oil still in? - elekie&a/c doctor
What about the filter, did this get replaced?
Honda Accord 2002 2.0i petrol - Oil change on car, was 1/2 litre old oil still in? - Turkish_Emperor

Yes, sorry I forgot to mention that (I always change the filter when doing an oil change).

Honda Accord 2002 2.0i petrol - Oil change on car, was 1/2 litre old oil still in? - Andrew-T

Yes, sorry I forgot to mention that (I always change the filter when doing an oil change).