a car for all seasons - the gardener
I am new to The Backroom but can see that there are plenty of intelligent, friendly and helpful people logged on.

I have a small problem to solve about choosing my next car ? second hand - which will need to be a very useful for a self employed gardener (not much landscaping, mostly lighter stuff), comfortable enough to travel long distances in, be able to cope with some of my off-road (farmer?s fields) camping excursions and be reasonably economical.
It?s a bit like finding a plant that will flower all year and grow anywhere without any trouble? Does anyone have some suggestions please? I am considering a Subaru Forester, Volvo V70, Maybe a Honda HVR (is it?). A Skoda might be a bit small and scrape the ground? I have a Volvo 740 at the moment but it is a thirsty old thing now.
a car for all seasons - sean
plenty of intelligent, friendly and helpful people logged on.

??? Yes, and me, gardener. What site are you logged onto, mate?

Anyway, how much do you want to spend?

How old a vehicle would you like.

We'd all like to help you.
a car for all seasons - hootie
Hiya Gardener - Sean's right, love to help, but he nicked my questions, so here's some more (and they're not girly ones like what colour do you fancy) LOL

Will it be your only car (presume so) so need to scrub up a bit for 'off duty' outings? If so, who's going to go in it? any kids, dogs, or lovely young ladies? (not necessarily in that order)

Will you be looking for warranty cover?

Do you need to have a local main dealer or will you be using a general garage for your servicing? No good choosing a car with no dealership nearby if you'd prefer to use one for this.

Will any of your equipment be difficult to lift in over a sill?
Do you need a boot space clear of wheel arches?

Would you prefer to use diesel? or petrol?

Are you particularly anti any manufacturer? or completely open minded?