VW Golf Match Edition - Resprayed panel - PHD1986

Hi all,

Sorry for starting my HJ career with a question but after some advice. Bought a second hand VW Golf during lockdown and once it was delivered noticed that there was paint over rubber seals and on black plastic in the wheel arch.

We paid a lot for the car and it is nearly new (~4k miles on the clock).

I'm wondering how concerned I should be? I also found glass in the side door pocket.. clearly glass from a window or windscreen. I was told of no issues with the car. Told it was in mint condition.

I've no experience of resprays but I am concerned that the panel sprayed will degrade quicker than the rest. Is this true?

After a bit of advice. I wouldn't have bought the car if I'd have known about it being resprayed given its age and mileage.

Edited by PHD1986 on 20/02/2021 at 08:52

VW Golf Match Edition - Resprayed panel - SLO76
This is a common problem today. Almost all new cars are either leased or taken on PCP’s and thus the first keeper will never actually own the vehicle and thus they’re generally not looking after them properly. I’m finding few used cars with complete or appropriate service histories, clocking is common on sub 3yr olds and many have very poor quality paint repairs carried out by backstreet body shops before returning them at the end of contract in order to avoid financial penalties.

I’m amazed at dealers letting people off with this. A good friend recently returned her Ford C-Max at 4yrs and the car had no service record and loads of horrific paintwork and yet they only charged her £300 after she claimed she was skint. They wanted £1300 but even that wouldn’t cover the cost of putting it right, never mind the missing history. You can understand why punters don’t bother looking after their rented cars.