Job losses - Penumbra

Not looking for sympathy - just want to extend good luck to any in the same position.

Went to work this afternoon (I work in retail), boss came over and said I will be out of a job in 2 weeks.

I know I can manage for the forseeable future but my thoughts go out to if you are in the same situation. There are people far worse off than me and things will get worse before they get better I'm sure but I'm determined to stay positive.

Be kind to each other and I wish you all the best.

Job losses - FP

"Bank of England boss: Don't fire people because of pandemic"

www.bbc.com/news/business-51943095

Job losses - dan86

"Bank of England boss: Don't fire people because of pandemic"

www.bbc.com/news/business-51943095

What are firms supposed to do if they go under?

Job losses - Andrew-T

What are firms supposed to do if they go under?

Apply for one of Mr Sunak's miracle loans I should think.

Job losses - dan86

I really do feel for all of those whose jobs are under threat from the economic slowdown this virus has caused as this will have a longer lasting impact on us more so than the virus.

It's not just the people who work for the airlines but the whole industry that backs them up same with the hospitality industry and all that supports it.

I was looking at starting my own business. So glad I didn't go ahead with the loan to start it up and stay where I was for the time being.

I'm just so glad I work in a industry that no matter what will always be there boom or bust.

Job losses - bathtub tom

I'm just so glad I work in a industry that no matter what will always be there boom or bust.

Midwifery or funeral director?

I was annoyed to hear this morning that food banks are worrying about supplies. Sorry, but the people that use them weren't starving to death before food banks existed and as they're probably on benefits, then they've still got a steady income unlike many of the employed that are being laid off.

Job losses - Andrew-T

Taxman ?