VW Jetta - Replacing an engine - How hard is it? - Roy Brown

So I can't seem to find a mechanic local that is willing to replace an engine in my 2010 Jetta 1.9 TDi and I am thinking on giving it a shot myself along with some friends. From googling it is the same as the Seat/VW/Audi variants i.e A3 etc

I would consider myself fairly handy when doing work on cars, but I have never done anything this big before. i.e i've done wheel bearings/hubs, suspension changes, radiators,differential changes, brakes along with the usual servicing.

But i'm a bit apprehensive about diving into it as I know it is a big job. I'm just looking some advice if any one has done this type of work to one of these cars before I would be interested to hear more

I have the replacement engine sitting ready to go in also

Thanks in advance

VW Jetta - Replacing an engine - How hard is it? - Andrew-T

I have never had the urge or the equipment to try this sort of thing, but I would guess the heavy kit you might need would depend on whether the engine came out upwards or downwards ? Haynes manuals usually describe this operation in some detail.

VW Jetta - Replacing an engine - How hard is it? - madf

I would imagine it's a drop suspension engine out through the bottom job...

Which means you need length and height in the workspace and very heavy lilting gear for the body..

VW Jetta - Replacing an engine - How hard is it? - gordonbennet

From what you have already described you are pretty hands on anyway, the only extras are disconnecting the drive shafts exhaust wiring and gear linkage, but you will probably need to hire in a decent piece of manual lifting equipment unless you have sturdy cross beams in your garage assuming the roof is high enough when a block and tackle and strong webbing straps or chains will do fine.

Have a poke nose on youtube, someone will have done the job on a similar vehicle.