Am I mad for not having breakdown cover? - Kekettykek

So this is prompted by a friendly argument I've had with a couple of family members. They think I'm nuts for having never had breakdown cover. I've been driving for 25+ years and in that time, despite driving some pretty ropey cars, I've broken down twice. In both cases I called up the nearest recovery firm and paid them cash to take me home or to a garage. Total cost: £120.

I'm not sure how much cover would have cost me over those years but I imagine it would have been well into four figures.

Do you think breakdown cover is absolutely essential, purely for peace of mind or a waste of money?

Am I mad for not having breakdown cover? - Heidfirst

I have it for peace of mind. I have probably used it 2x in 20+ years, 1 of which was 200+ miles from home. Of course part of the equation depends upon the age/type/condition of the car(s) that you drive & how far/where you drive.

You can get a reasonable solution for £40/year - it is worth that to me for my peace of mind.

Am I mad for not having breakdown cover? - barney100

I think the home start function is so useful. Saved me hassle and cash over the years.

Am I mad for not having breakdown cover? - Engineer Andy

I think the home start function is so useful. Saved me hassle and cash over the years.

Especially if there's no-one around to give you a jump-start. My RAC cover states that to use the on-street Roadside cover, I must be quite some distance from my home (can't remember how far, but it's enough that I wouldn't want to push my car all that way).

Am I mad for not having breakdown cover? - skidpan

From memory these are the occasions we have called out our break down assist over the past 6 years.

2013 2008 BMW 118D. Broken front spring rendering car undriveable. Needed recovering at 5pm Friday which would probably have resulted in a long wait for private rescue. Aviva took car to our local BMW Indie as rquested.