Honda City - First time buying a new car. Is this the right mov - Tonnystark

I am all set to purchase my first ever vehicle as Honda Civic SE at 26.5k inclusive of all taxes and fees in ON, Canada. I decided to put 10k as down payment and rest would be financed for 4 years at 1.49%. I love the features(Honda Sensing, carplay, mileage etc) and the reliability that Honda vehicles offer. Since this is my first vehicle and I am a new driver, insurance is sky high for me. Almost $325 every month plus with financing cost.

I have a great job at the airport which pays about $2100 after taxes per month. My rent, hydro, internet, phone and groceries is under $850(Don’t ask me how).

Am i making the right decision here? What do you reckon?

Honda City - First time buying a new car. Is this the right mov - Engineer Andy

Whilst other may be able to help you, you may wish to reflect on that this this the UK website HonestJohn.co.uk and not the US (completely unrelated) website with the '.com' ending. We may not be able to help you as we are unlikely tot know what the relative cost of living and running costs for cars are across the Pond.

Best of luck though.

Honda City - First time buying a new car. Is this the right mov - SLO76
While this is a UK site the same advice stands over there as here. Don’t spend such a large percentage of your monthly salary on a car, especially your first car which takes up so much just to cover insurance. Buy a cheap older, smaller and thus cheaper to insure model instead. Get a bit of experience then get a nicer model.

As a new driver you are almost guaranteed to scuff and bump any car you buy so it’s always best to buy something that won’t lose a fortune in value thanks to this. Plus you’ll soon tire of paying out all of that money every month on a car. After a few months that lovely new Civic will be just another car and another millstone round your neck.