HID bulb xtreme white light - maru
has anyone tried using the PIAA , philips, Hella super white bulb?
Manufacturer quoted input power of 55W = 110W (piaa) is this really energy savings bulb.
I assume its illuminance is better for wet driving at night.
HID bulb xtreme white light - Cyd
I've been using PIAA Super White 80/80W (=135/115) for about 20 months. I've just sent PIAA the following email:

Dear Sir,
About 20 months ago I purchased a pair of PIAA Super White H4 bulbs in 80/80 watt power. I was making use of them in my Rover 820 Vitesse Sport (road use only - this is my everyday car). Considering how much these bulbs cost (around £90 for a pair from Demon Tweeks) I must say that I am somewhat disappointed with them for the following reasons:

1. I was already using 100/80 watt H4 bulbs. Direct comparison betwen these bulbs (one 100/80 in one headlight and a PIAA Super White in the other, shining on a white painted wall) certainly showed that the Super Whites are indeed a lot "whiter" than the conventional halogen bulbs, but it was difficult to discern them being any brighter. I bought these bulbs because I wanted an improvement to the dipped beam for country road driving - I live out in the country and drive dark country roads all year round, but found little improvement using the PIAAs. In particular, the beam seemed concentrated on the straight ahead with litle spread to the sides. Road illumination directly in front of the car was improved - but even raising the beam to dead level did little for the more distant vision.