Audi A4 - Need a reliable car - Andy willetts

Hi guys, new to this site so hi all. Just need a bit of advise about buying my next car. Im a carer so need something reliable, i do a lot of stop-starts which is killing my Audi. Also cos im an Audi driver id like something with a bit of 'umpth' so sporty looking. Nothing brand new but within the last 6or7 years. Cheers guys

Audi A4 - Need a reliable car - skidpan

Also cos im an Audi driver id like something with a bit of 'umpth' so sporty looking. Nothing brand new but within the last 6or7 years. Cheers guys

That gives us a wide range of choices. How about a nice Ferrari or even another Audi such as an R8. Both very sporty with plenty of 'umpth'.

Or perhaps you have a budget to keep within and other needs such as 4/5 seats, an estate for the dog. More info might help us.

Audi A4 - Need a reliable car - nellyjak

Something reliable, you say.?...let me start you off with 2 words..."Buy Japanese."

...but as skidpan says...more info wouldn't go amiss.

Audi A4 - Need a reliable car - craig-pd130

'A lot of stop-starts' = don't buy a diesel, whatever you do, as stop-start work is likely to result in unreliability and big bills.

Something with the VW 1.4 litre petrol turbo engine (not the 'twincharged' motor) from the past few years (Seat Ibiza / Leon, VW Golf, Skoda Octavia etc) would have a fair bit of go and look nice.

Audi A4 - Need a reliable car - Miniman777

I'd avoid diesel and avoid the DSG gearbox like the plague if it were Audi/VW/Skoda/Seat.

But as someone has said, buy Japanese, as the perception of premium quality German cars is a bit of a myth really. With most cars, you can be lucky, or not so lucky.

Audi A4 - Need a reliable car - daveyjp
When a vehicle is a tool of your trade you need to select the best for the job.

For me it would be a Toyota Hybrid, certainly not sporty, but it will cope with stop start and get good mpg. Ask any taxi driver with a Prius.