Jaguar XF - Shuddering steering wheel when braking - Immortal

Hi I'm completely new to this sort of forum so after some advice/opinions.

My steering wheel was shaking when braking in December. I use a guy who has set up a mobile garage, he used to be a mechanic at a premium brand dealership for many years. I took the car for a drive with him to see and he said I needed new front pads and discs changed. He fitted Pagid pads and discs on both front wheels.

The shaking stopped for a while but now has started up again. I asked my mechanic again and now he says so long as it is through the steering wheel ansd not the brake pedal or through my seat, the only possible reason could be is binding brake callipers which are over heating causing the discs to warp- so now I need new callipers AND new set of discs and pads!!!

I asked him why the callipers weren't checked in the first place or even changed to avoid needing a new set of pads and discs. His answer was that you only change callipers if there is a known problem, you don’t usually replace them when you replace pads and discs. He also said "in his experience in the past he's cleaned callipers up but within-a few week they seized again. There is a piston inside the calliper that needs to be very clean and corrosion free. You can't really clean it unless you take it apart and that takes ages, cheaper to buy new ones than paying labour to take them apart and clean them. Plus you'd also need a calliper restoration kit".

He doesn't strike me as a dishonest person or trying to rip me off and he has very reasonable labour rates but I am struggling with the fact I have to now replace the pads and discs again and pay about £500 on top of what I already paid.

Is his diagnoses correct or am I being naive and should I be getting a second opinion? I phoned Jaguar up but they wouldnt really say much because they preferred I took it in for a diagnostic at £90.