Citroen C1 - Advice on first car - C1, Peugot 107 or Aygo - CluelessNik

I am a new driver buying my first car.

It has to be second hand, and after some research I think I have settled on Citroen C1, Aygo or the 106. I know all are made at the same factory but which should I go for? Has to be 4 doors, and max price...maybe £2000. Ideally £1750. Is there a model thats most reliable from these?

I got the impression I should go for the C1 to avoid paying a premium for the Toyota badge but still getting the same car/engine. Is that a good idea?

Apparently there have been some clutch problems in older versions but after 2009 its been resolved..but whether I can afford a post-2009 version I dont know.

Any help appreciated.

Citroen C1 - Advice on first car - C1, Peugot 107 or Aygo - gordonbennet

All the same car bar a few trinkets such as lights, but try and find one that's got aircon, large window area compared to interior space.

Forget make up to a point, concentrate on getting one that's seen an oil change at the fewest miles as possible and at the very worse case an oil change every year, also one that appears not to have been kerbed or otherwise neglected, the sump only holds about 3.5 litres so it doesn't take much oil usage coupled to a driver who never lifts the bonnet to accelerate wear, a noisy rattle from the osf of the engine will be timing chain, worth checking a few out so you know a good one when you hear/see it.

Check the front brake discs for wear lip, these get through front discs and pads in record time, if you are handy at DIY or have a friendly mechanic they are cheap as chips and simple to replace, circa £65 for Brembo discs/pads if you search about.

Check the spare wheel well, yes they have a spare, for water because they can have leakages.