Skoda Fabia vRS - My neighbour has taken an unwitting risk - Sulphur Man

We have a good neighbours on both sides, actually one is completely great. He's a decorator and interiors man by trade, and a very sought after one, because he's very good.

Anyway he's just bought his partner a car, a 13-reg Skoda Fabia vRS, the one with the petrol 1.4 turbocharged & supercharged TSi, mated to the 7-speed DSG (there was no manual option)

He's delighted, but he doesnt read HJ, and is unaware that this car has a drive train comprising two of VAGs most troublesome pieces of engineering ever, both no longer in production. I havent even hinted that he might be in for a lot of trouble, as he loves the car right now (lime green, black roof, white wheels - it does look good I admit).

Bafflingly, he says he did his homework until the right one came along. Either he read the various forums filled with grief of excess oil consumption and other major problems, or he didnt, or he doesnt think its significant.

There's the possibility that this is a good 'un of course, which I so so hope is the case.

Why the hell didnt he ask me first?? - never mentioned it once. It replaces a Mazda2 1.3 Tamura, which was utterly reliable.....

Everytime I see it arrive and leave, I'll be watching for blue smoke and listening for tinkly engine noise. Im going to suggest monthly oil checks to him, and 98RON fuel, anything to stave off the threat without making him as nervous as me!

Never felt nervous about a car I dont actually own....

Skoda Fabia vRS - My neighbour has taken an unwitting risk - Avant

As it's coming up for 4 years old, there's a sporting chance that one or both troublesome areas have already gone wrong and been repaired.

Skoda Fabia vRS - My neighbour has taken an unwitting risk - gordonbennet