spare wheels!! - concrete

I think there has been discussion on previous threads about this subject, but here goes. The new vehicle I have ordered comes with a tyre inflator kit instead of a spare wheel. The option is a spare wheel and jack for £150, which seems reasonable enough. I have no experience of the inflator kits, and frankly they sound pretty 'heath robinson' and a convenient get out by manufacturers not to supply or accommodate spare wheels within the vehicle. I have used my spare only once in the past 12 years, but at least you know you can get home or to a repair garage. Any comments and experiences would be welcome.

Cheers Concrete

spare wheels!! - John Boy

This topic was so recent that I found it fairly easily:

www.honestjohn.co.uk/forum/post/index.htm?t=116629

As far as I'm concerned, the posts by Avant and Smileyman (1 each) clinch the issue.

spare wheels!! - daveyjp
I have never had a puncture and thought 'what a convenient time for that to happen'!
spare wheels!! - gordonbennet

If the spare (or one of the fitted wheels) from you're present Superb is compatible, is that not an option together with the jack and toolkit?

You could always paint the wheel yellow and stick a 50mph label on it.

Edited by gordonbennet on 26/01/2017 at 20:51

spare wheels!! - Smileyman

I'd suggest seeing what is available on online auction sites before ordering brand new wheels ..... some years ago I purchased a set of 4 alloys wheels from a breakers yard - I put my own tyres on them, much cheaper than a new wheel! Also, if your old car is scrapped why not keep the jack and tools? Perhaps (unless it fits the new car) the spare could even be sold on .....

Edited by Smileyman on 27/01/2017 at 00:09

spare wheels!! - skidpan