MINI Cooper D 2007 - Clutch repair linked to oil problem? - Paul Wootton
Hi everyone...
I'm new to this so please excuse my lack of knowledge.
I have a Mini Cooper D 2007 which has 90k on the clock. Recently the clutch failed and I had a replacement fitted which I was told is a duel mass flywheel. I received the car back and the first issue was the under tray wasn't fastened properly and hit the road and had to be replaced. The car then developed a creaking noise from the engine bay once the engine is warm and when in low gears and lifting up and then back on the accelerator. They have had the car back and can't fine the issue.
Yesterday the oil light came on in red and I took it to them. I should point out that it went off again but when it was on there was a "tapping" noise in the engine. There was more oil in than the max but not too much which they drained off. Whilst doing this they noticed that the air box was loose and the hosing wasn't connected so they had it overnight to fix.
They reconnected this but on starting the engine today then red oil light has come on again, but again gone off.
Does anyone have any ideas what this could be and I guess does it sound like the original clutch work could be linked to this oil problem?
Thanks in advance.
Paul
MINI Cooper D 2007 - Clutch repair linked to oil problem? - elekie&a/c doctor
Can't really see any connection between the clutch and oil problem.Slight overfill will not cause the light to come on.The oil light is for pressure,not quantity,but it may be a dual purpose warning on this model as it it fitted with a dpf.Was any other work done apart from the clutch?The only part of the engine that may have been disturbed would have been the exhaust system.
Hi thanks for the reply.
I had a new DPF and injectors about 10 months ago.
The clutch and flywheel were replaced on this occasion.
My main worry is it's been given back to me with loose parts and a noise from the engine which wasn't there before.