VW Golf MK7 1.4 TSI Match Edition - Buying new car on Thursday - oldgit

I have been prevaricating about buying this new Golf for about 3 years now as I was worried about the Electronic Hand brake system. A road test this week completely allayed my fears and found it a delight although was not able to try it on very steep hills.

However I was surprise to find that my dealer in Sevenoaks had exactly the car I wanted in stock in Relfex Silver so bought it there and then and pick it up next week. But what worries me now, having put a £1000 deposit down is what is the best way to pay the balance.

Others and indeed the garage have said that using one's Debit Card is the best way to go and indeed i have transferred the necessary money to my Current Account but doubts exist as to whether such a large sum will ring bells with Debit Card system.

My bank's Customer Service dept (in India, I think) having giving me some sort of assurance but one person said I can only pay in £5k blocks so therefore several payments via the card reader would be necessary. Someone else said they will leave a note against the day and for the amount being transacted. The alternative would be an electronic bank transfer but the main dealer said that all their 'cash' transaction are done successfully using a Debit card. Hmmmm

Any advicee to allay my always present anxiety.

VW Golf MK7 1.4 TSI Match Edition - Buying new car on Thursday - Graham567

I paid £11,500 on a visa debt card for my last car and it went through without a hitch.I didn't even inform my bank beforehand about the transaction which is possibly a bit worrying.Stop worrying and enjoy your pick up day.

VW Golf MK7 1.4 TSI Match Edition - Buying new car on Thursday - Big John

I don't buy cars very often but:-

In 2005 when i bought my just over year old Superb I (£8.5k) I used my debit card but had to inform my bank beforehand