First time buyer-how can i make a best - impey
Hi, I've just passed driving test at the third attempt( oh my god!) and thinking of buying my first car. The car I have in mind is new Nissan Micra S 1.2L 5dr automatic ( list price is £9395)

The standard options are: PAS, ABS, front e/w, immobiliser, remote locking, radio/cd player.

As I have no experience in bargaining with a dealer, I would like some advice as to how much discount I should be aiming at realistically; and what figure I should start off with as an opening offer?

I'd rather have more discount than thrown-in offers( excluding free insurance) as I'm ahppy with the basic options, and the budget is the most I can afford.

ps:I will be grateful for any tips or suggetions:D

I forgot to add.. - impey
I'm buying outright without part-exchange.
hmm, 45 replies on de-icing techiniques while mine ,,zero.
Just a speculation:)
I forgot to add.. - Dynamic Dave
hmm, 45 replies on de-icing techiniques while mine ,,zero.
Just a speculation:)

45 replies on de-icing techniques over a period of 11 days.
1 reply to your post over a period of 13 mins.

Patience dear boy ;o)
I forgot to add.. - impey
Oh, I thought the de-icing thread was posted after me.
By the way, I'm not a boy ;o)
I forgot to add.. - Dynamic Dave
Oh, I thought the de-icing thread was posted after me.

No. The date you see is latest reply to a thread. If someone replies to a thread after yours is posted, it gets moved down the list, until someone replies to yours again.
By the way, I'm not a boy ;o)

That told me. ;-)
No replies?? - M.M
OK here's one...

Have a search around the online brokers and discount sources for cars like the one you want. Print out their prices and take them with you to the local dealer as a bottom line to work towards. In the end you might even prefer to get a car online.

Why not look at other cars in that price range that may be discounted more. You could get a super Citroen C3 diesel for that sort of money.