Bedford rascal - Engine starts but won't fire up - titchdrums
Hi I have a 1990 Bedford rascal camper which has been relatively ok, I decided to change spark plugs,points, condenser,rotor arm and distributor cap to give it a service and it started no problems fine.When I tried to start it today it started ok was running for a awhile then stopped. I tried to start it but it just won't fire up...., I checked plugs, ht leads and re checked points gap but nothing just can't get my head around it I'm no mechanic only a DIY merchant it was running ok before the change just took a while to start that's why I decided it was overdue for some new plugs etc.just need advice
Bedford rascal - Engine starts but won't fire up - Gary T

I changed the points on a Mk2 Cortina once and the car would run and then just stop. Sometimes it would then fire up, othertimes not. Turned out that the new points were faulty and were sticking open, hence no spark. Fitted another set of points and it was fine. Could possibly be the problem you are having.

Was gonna order ht leads but when I spoke to parts man he said if it was running fine after putting new plugs in tis probably not leads.I put old points back on just now and still nothing,I'm getting confused with the points gap...I followed the book , turn engine clockwise with spanner until points fully open inserted feeler gauge adjusted screw,tightened up re checked gap...when I looked at a previous site the guy said adjust them when closed this can't be right surely ?
Bedford rascal - Engine starts but won't fire up - Gary T

The points gap should be set when open otherwise they'll never close. Is the new condenser OK? If it shorts then the effect is like the points not opening.

As I mentioned everything was working, the condenser is new the only thing I can think is no spark at the plugs just can't see why as it turned over and worked last night......
Bedford rascal - Engine starts but won't fire up - bathtub tom