Hyundai i10 or Peugeot 108 - Please help: Buying first car - angelofmusique

Hi,

I am a newly qualified driver looking to buy my first car. I have only basic knowledge of what to look out for having only really driven a Citreon DS3 1.6 litre diesel, therefore I was hoping for some advice here.

I am interested in two cars, both only 1 year old, reasonably cheap to run and with low mileage: a Hyundai i10 1.2 litre 4 cylinder car and a Peugeot 108 1 litre 3 cylinder.

The Peugeot is somewhat cheaper despite being almost new, but from what I understand it is not rated as highly as the Hyundai. I have test driven them in town and on the dual carriageway and enjoyed driving both cars. Now I am stuck between the two. Can anyone offer their thoughts? I would really appreciate it.

Thanks!

Edited by angelofmusique on 12/04/2015 at 18:43

Hyundai i10 or Peugeot 108 - Please help: Buying first car - RobJP

The Hyundai. Mainly because of the warranty, which (on a 1 year old car) has 4 years left to run. On a Peugeot, you've only got 2 years cover remaining.

Whatever you go for, make absolutely certain that servicing has been done on time/to mileage, so that the warranty is intact. Then read up what you need to do to keep it covered, and make sure you get any work done as it needs to be.

Lastly, welcome, and good motoring !

Hyundai i10 or Peugeot 108 - Please help: Buying first car - daveyjp
If you like the Peugeot, forget both and go for an Aygo. Same car as the Pug, but much better dealers than Pug or Hyundai and you will also get a five year warranty.
Hyundai i10 or Peugeot 108 - Please help: Buying first car - Bianconeri
If you like the Peugeot, forget both and go for an Aygo. Same car as the Pug, but much better dealers than Pug or Hyundai and you will also get a five year warranty.

Or if you live near me buy a Citroen C1, same car as the 108 and Aygo but the dealer is not arrogant and unhelpful.