Skoda Superb - recall for gearbox oil now the camshaft/timinggone - jw1973

I have a skoda superb 2010 elegance tsi 1.8 DSG

serviced by main dealer all the time. 49,000 miles

Had in 2013 a warranty claim for clutch pack

Had water pump repalced in 2013

last weekend I took car to skoda citygate colindale for a VOSA recall. Collected car and within 15 miles had yellow exhaust warning light and major judder when at rest. Took car back. Surprise surprise Citygate say nothing to do with the recall work and its a total coincidence that i now have a possible camshaft problem and stretched timing chain. They want £192 to investigate further and likely an additional £500 for new timing chain.... They refuse to accept it has anything to do with VOSA recall work.

I'm not technical but find it hard to accept that a car running perfectly should have a major problem within 15 miles of leaving a garage where engine work has been done.

are Skoda right?

Help please

Skoda Superb - recall for gearbox oil now the camshaft/timinggone - skidpan

If the VOSA recall work did not involve the camshaft or timing chain then its a total coincidence and simply bad luck.

What work was done just before it failed?

Skoda Superb - recall for gearbox oil now the camshaft/timinggone - Hamsafar

Changing the gear oil has nothing to do with the timing chain - it's just bad luck.

Skoda Superb - recall for gearbox oil now the camshaft/timinggone - Manatee

Always assuming the problem is indeed to do with the timing chain. The fact that they want £192 to investigate suggests they don't know, so their denial that it is anything to do with them sounds like a knee-jerk.

Did they do any updates while it was in?

Have you posted on Briskoda?

Skoda Superb - recall for gearbox oil now the camshaft/timinggone - RobJP