Audi A3 - Buying a high mileage A3 - advice needed - TheDoc
Hi guys,

I'm looking to buy an A3 but sadly my budget is not all that much - £4k - £5k. I've done some looing on all the classified ad sites and come across two that have really tickled my

www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/20130928901...p - This one has a lot of miles (123k) but it looks the business and seems to have full service

www.gumtree.com/p/cars-vans-motorbikes/bargain-200...t - this one looks nice and seems pretty cheap, but I'm not sure if it's got service history

I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to buying cars so could you give me an opinion on those cars and what I should be looking for?

I've emailed both of the above, asking what work the car has had done (I.e Cambelt changed) what else should I be asking?

Many thanks
Audi A3 - Buying a high mileage A3 - advice needed - Cyd

well, the first one has less than 2 months MoT, whilst the second has 10 months.

the second one has illegally tinted front side windows (boy racer?). make sure the tint can be removed, you could pick up a ticket for that and possibly invalidate your insurance in case of an accident.

the second one is a private sale so you can get to quiz the owner about work / economy / reliability / problems etc etc.

I'd go to see the second one first.

Bose sound and heated seats well worth having (I have both in my Saab 9-3)

Audi A3 - Buying a high mileage A3 - advice needed - artill

probably not the answer you want, but i wouldnt buy either.

The first, with plenty of miles and a DSG looks expensive to keep. Do you have a large reserve of cash to fix it?

The second looks suspect to me. Dark tints, repaired damage (but no close up photos), missing rear wiper. (doesnt point towards a simpathetic current or previous owner).