VW Passat - Fixed penalty given for u-turn - gbs01

Hi.

I was stopped by a police van on A4 after the Hammersmith Flyover last week for doing a u-turn on a signal that had ahead-only and right-only filter arrows. It did not have any 'no u-turn' sign.

They took my licence details and today I received a conditional offer of fixed penalty for £60 and 3 points.

This is my first offence and I've been driving for nearly 5 years now.

I am quite gutted as I've seen loads of signals where such straight/right filter arrows are there and there are "no u-turn" signs. Since there wasn't any sign like that on this one, I thought it was legal to do a u-turn.

Also, I couldn't find anything on the highway code or anywhere else that states that doing such a manouvre is illegal.

My question is should I bother contesting or I don't stand a chance and just give the fine and live with the 3 penalty points?

Thanks,

Paul

Edited by gbs01 on 08/07/2013 at 23:36

VW Passat - Fixed penalty given for u-turn - Bromptonaut

In terms of the offence you're bang to rights. The arrows convey the meaning ahead only or right only. Left turns or U-turns are effectively prohibited.

Unlucky, 'cos if the Council had caught you on camera it'd be fine but no points. Might be worth checking if there are any protocols about police enforcing these offences where, as in London there's overlapping civil enforcememt by the Council but I suspect you're just going to have to pay up and acept the points.

VW Passat - Fixed penalty given for u-turn - Cris_on_the_gas

yep afraid your bang to rights on this one as previous post.

Might be worth asking if a Driver Improvement course is available as an option. Cost slightly higher than £60 but you don't get points on licence

Thanks for the advice guys.

I find it quite confusing that there are places where they put these filter arrows and also the 'no u-turn allowed' signs whereas in other places there aren't any 'no u-turn allowed' signs.