200,000k miles in a year - DSLRed
Having read the topic from yesterday on what car to get when you are tendering for a job involving 200,000k miles in a year, one thing that Dave the Taxi driver said was :-

"A nice little contract of 5 consecutive 15-hour shifts and the weekends off could be just what I need?.". My first reaction was "I hope he's joking".

Now, I am a consultant by trade myself, and do about 35,000 miles a year, travelling to jobs, and fit a full day job in between. So I know the dangers, and am not having a go a Dave here. But it made me think of a point that I think, more and more, is madness.

Why is it that it is perfectly legal for Dave to do a 15 hour shift on the road travelling 800 miles, 5 days a week, or for that matter, for me and others like me, to regularly undertake 200+ mile journeys home after having already done a full days work, then travel perhaps another 300 miles the next day, as well as a full days work, when lorry drivers cannot travel more than a set time, and have tachographs to enforce that.

I used to make some ridiculous journeys in the name of work as I hated staying out, but tend to stay out overnight more and more now and find it a necessary evil. I think the thing that swung it for me was the Selby Rail Disaster - there but for the grace of God Go I, and all that.

Do others think that it is only a matter of time before another disaster is casued by someone driving professionally, in a non-regulated profession, driving wise, and tachos are enforced on all people who drive long distances as part of their job, whether the job is classified as a driving job or not.
200,000k miles in a year - WhiteTruckMan
common failing of car drivers-especially 'buisness' drivers-is thinking they can drive a lot further than they actually can.

WTM
200,000k miles in a year - barney100