Insurance Questions - Pete Williams
I have opted out of the company car scheme and last year took out Class 3 insurance on advice after a long story. This year seems to be a toss up between Class 2 or 3 depending on the company you speak to as some don't do Class 3 and proceed to tell me that Class 2 is OK. Regrettably nobody seems to be able to give me a straight answer on the definition of any of these varying classes 1,2 or 3 ( my boss probably thinks social, domestic and pleasure will do ! ). I guess many people are in the same predicament and bad advice could prove costly of course should you try and claim when under insured or accept an unnecessary high premium. Now the car is my responsibilty obviously I want to ensure correct insurance. Does anybody know a decent unbiased website that will explain these terms in plain english. I am a sales manager travelling to pre-arranged appointments doing about 40K a year. Thanks to all.
Re: Insurance Questions - Mark (Brazil)
> Does anybody know a decent unbiased website that will explain
> these terms in plain english. I am a sales manager travelling
> to pre-arranged appointments doing about 40K a year. Thanks
> to all.

Do you carry samples ? What type, to what value ?
Does anybody else use the vehicle for either business or even travelling to & from work ?
Mileage per year ?
Do you carry customers/ colleagues on business ?
If so, specifically what is the business ?

You may prefer to e-mail me, feel free.

However, the business use does vary from insurer to insurer. If you have a specific insurance policy you wish to know about, fax it to me (e-mail first).

M.
Re: Insurance Questions - Pete Williams
I don't carry samples as a rule but occasionally carry demonstration gear up to 12K GBP in value but it is not necessary to include these items in my car insurance - these remain at the company's risk.